top of page

The Pamphlet

After class today I made a decision! It was a spure of the moment thing, but I decided to spice up the way I am going to present information on light pollution. I remembered last semester how we looked at the Candy Chang website, and she created a street vendor guide with images that made it easier for non-english speakers to decipher the "rules" of street vending in New York City. I started thinking that it would be a good way to present light pollution. I find I always think that when information is presented with diagrams or images instead of long, wordy paragraphs, I'm interested in learning about what is being presented. Now the task is to figure out exactly what I want in the pamphlet. As a Biology Major I would like to focus mostly on the biological aspects of light pollution. The migratory patterns of birds at night and how the lights distract them and cause them to run into buildings and die! Also, I would like to touch base on the baby sea turtle problem, how they inherently go towards the direction with more light, which used to be over the ocean with the stars and moon, but is now towards cities! This isn't as relevant in Utah, but I still think it is important to address everything and get all of the facts out there. Focusing primarily on Salt Lake City issues, especially those on campus. I am meeting with Bettymaya Foott soon to discuss her role on campus and what she is doing in regards to light pollution, I look forward to hearing what she has to tell me!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page