top of page

A Final Meeting


Tonight we all met up for our last class of the year. We decided to go to Indotine on 1300E to celebrate the wonderful year that we have had together. I can't fully express how much I have come to love this class and the people in it. I was exposed to so much that I never would have been if not for this class. I loved being pushed out of my comfort zone to try and create something that would make a difference in my community. I really hope that our website will help to educate people about the effects of light pollution, and that more people will take an active role against it as a result.

I would also like to personally thank Professor Goldsmith. I can't belief how much he has taught me over the course of this year. I think that he has a vision of the world that he would like to live in and I have to be honest, I would want to live there too! I've learned everything from light pollution to edible gardens to creating social spaces. These are topics that I never would have encountered if it were not for this class and Professor Goldsmith, so I would like to thank him for the opportunity.

Sitting around and looking at everyone laughing and talking with one another, I realized how much I'm going to miss this class. I sort of needed the outlet that it offered every week to escape the pressure and craziness of my life. It was an outlet for interesting learning and I am going to miss it.

The process that I went through to come up with the website idea was brutal. The feeling of learned helplessness, that I could never actually do anything or make a difference, was terrifying at times. I am so proud of the product that Ashley and I cam up with for the semester. We rocked the wix website and made something that we can truly be proud of, and something that will help others to become educated on light pollution.

I feel like I changed over the course of this year, for the better. I was confronted by huge life decisions and I feel that this class helped me make the right one. I needed to know how to actually help people, and how to make a difference in the world. I was pushed to my breaking point this year, and I think that I came out on the other side really well, and knowing exactly how I can make a real difference. I will continute to work on this site, because I'll be around for a little while longer. I need to ask PRofessor Goldsmith how to get the word out about our site and maybe take my project further to try and come up with a transitional fixture for non-dark sky compliant lamps on the U of U campus. I am so proud of the whole class and the achievements we have made, and I wish the best for everyone I've had the pleasure of knowing this year.

Thank You.


bottom of page