top of page

The First Excursion

So I have some AWESOME news. My brother agreed to go out with me to take pictures of the University of Utah at night! We went out for the first time tonight and got some AWESOME shots. They are so light that it looks like daytime outside. We only were out for a half hour or so, and we only took pictures of Fort Douglas, and the Legacy Bridge. They are so well done though and I want to share them with you so that you can see how much we contribute to light pollution!

This is a photo of the pathway from Sagepoint to the HC and the fixture to the left is that of Bettymaya Foott! These are the ones she put in with the help of a SCIF grant and I have to say they work much better than the dumb bulb ones around them. I noticed there is still no signage so she must still be working on that!

These two photos, I feel, look like it is daytime outside! For crying out loud, do we really need this much light shining upward on the side of a building? Shouldn't it being pointing downward to help us see the sidewalk or maybe help us see others who are hiding with malicious intent?!

Okay, I think that this bridge is absolutely beautiful, but does it really need to be lit up ALL NIGHT? I mean, keeping it lit until like midnight for people who may be out walking, but I think that it could be turned off and it would help a lot of nocturnally migrating birds live to see another day, instead of distracting them down to their deaths!


bottom of page