top of page

The Salt Lake City Scavenger Hunt

Yesterday I did something that I have never done before! I participated in the SLC Scavenger Hunt anf it was SO FUN. There were six of us in our group plus two dogs :) (we were the only ones to bring dogs even though they were allowed, which we thought was odd)! Anyways, the way the whole thing works is you get a sheet of 12 clues and have to run around downtown Salt Lake to finish them all by taking a photo of your whole team in front of the places. It was more of the downtown area than I had ever seen, it was amazing. One thing that I really loved that I saw was these "parking meters" that were recently put in all around downtown and the change from them goes towards an organization that provides for the homeless population. I thought this was really awesome and I had a moment of pride for my Salt Lake Valley! Here's a picture of what they look like.

Anyways, this was also the first time that I had been INSIDE Temple Square, which I didn't think non-Mormon people were allowed to go into, so that was a surprise! It is really beautiful in there, no wonder they get their pictures taken there for EVERYTHING. We ran around the City Creek Mall, went to the Capitol Theater, the Galvan Center, the city building, EVERYWHERE and it was SO much fun. I really loved running around with my friends and collaborating with other groups while doing tasks. Our photos were so awesome and one of the highlights actually was meeting this sweet couple from South Carolina and asking them to take a picture with us! When we got really excited that they were from a colonial state, the man said "Did I win?!" We told him he did!

At the end of it all, we thought that we maybe got fifth place, which was still awesome because the people in the group who had done this before had never gotten above nineteenth! When they announced that top five, Our team didn't get fifth, so we thought we had been pushed out of the rankings. It turned out however that we got THIRD PLACE! We were so stoked on life, AND we got a cash prize which never hurts ;). I was exhausted but I felt like I accomplished something that day and I loved every second of the race. We had so much fun and I hope that we can do it again next year, and maybe even get first!

The theme was ROYGBIV. Can you tell?!


bottom of page