top of page

Bill's Map

So we got the updated map from Bill today! This is going to help us when we create the projects section of our new website! I started making it yesterday and it is really coming along! I'm getting super excited about it. The map was a little bit of a letdown honestly. I am glad that we have one of our own, but I am sort of disappointed because Bill said that he would mark down exactly what type of light fixture each color dot represented on the map, but he only ended up highlighting the globe lights that will (hopefully) be replaced within the year. He also promised to indicate whether a fixture is dark sky friendly or whether it is just dark sky compliant. He did not come through with all of this information, but I think it will be okay because I can still discuss the map to the best of my knowledge.

Bill also has fallen a little bit short of what he promised, because I still have not received a total wattage for the exterior lighting on campus. I emailed him a little while ago and he said that he had forgotten that he said he would send this information. This sort of perturbed me, but then I had to remind myself that this man's job is not to get information for me,he is doing that out of kindness, so I better just let it go! He did eventually get the total wattage to me, but then proceeded to tell me that it didn't reflect the actual total wattage. This is because more wattage is used by the ballast in the light AND every light is connected to a building, which also WASTES energy. That's fun huh? Anyways he sent us the logictics for everything and now we can do some calculations to see how much money would be saved, even though it won't be completely accurate!


bottom of page